Doe Eye + Kickstarter

20120227-122815.jpg

My dear Maryam is raising money to record, mix, and master her latest release. I am positive that what she’s working on is amazing, and that she won’t spend any of our money on hookers or blow (she may, however, use it to buy cupcakes but everyone that knows her would agree that cupcakes are a vital part of her creative process).

I am helping to fund this project and I think you should too. Here’s why:

•• Maryam (her superhero name is Doe Eye) is incredibly talented, and is genuinely one of the most gifted musicians I have ever met. She goes to the Berklee College of Music, which for those of you not in the know, is the Stanford of music schools. And she’s paying for it herself with student loans, so if this whole music thing goes tits up, she’ll be eating ramen well into her fifties. The least we can do is help her out with her record.

•• She’s adorable. See above photos.

•• She likes cupcakes. And by “like”, I mean she would probably marry cupcakes if she could.

•• At 20, she played one of my favourite venues in SF, Bottom of the Hill. I have been going to shows at BotH for 12 years, and her show was the first time I saw more than 2 women onstage. In fact, she had 7.

•• The rewards for you as a backer are pretty cool. A love letter? How many of THOSE have you received lately?

•• I know that she is going to do amazing things with her music, and I believe in her. I hope you do too.

Click here to be a backer for the Doe Eye Kickstarter fund: http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1766555640/doe-eye-everybody-in-the-world
Click here for amazing Doe Eye sounds: http://soundcloud.com/doeeye

Leave a Reply

